Cappella Mediteranea

Opus Infinitum

Bach versus Haendel

Here, Leonardo García Alarcón presents a pastiche, an assemblage of pieces from the works of Bach and Handel, often paired together to mirror instrumental melodies or complementary texts, sometimes in different languages. These associations allow us to navigate from one musical universe to another, in subtle and sometimes surprising ways, exploring the correspondences and differences between the two composers, who were born in the same year, in the same region, and yet never knew each other.

This alternation between the oratorios of one composer and the cantatas of the other, or between the concerti of these two monuments of Baroque music, is astonishing in the way the melodic lines respond to each other with obvious ease and harmonic logic.


Elizaveta Sveshnikova, soprano
Hugh Cutting, contre-ténor
Guy Cutting, ténor
Adrien Fournaison, basse

Direction musicale | Leonardo García Alarcón
Chœur de chambre de Namur
Cappella Mediterranea

Prochaines dates


S. BachAm Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats, BWV 42
F. HaendelWatermusic, Suite n°1, X. Allegro, HWV 348
S. Bach – Concerto in F per Oboe e archi, BWV 1053 R

F. HaendelQuel fior che all’aba ride, HWV 200, Duos et trios Vol. 1, II
S. Bach – Concerto pour 2 violons en ré m, II. Largo ma non tanto BWV 1043

F. Haendel – « Wretched lovers ! » (II,1 – Chorus), Acis and Galatea HWV 49
S. BachEs ist ein trotzig und verzagt Ding (I, Chorus), BWV 176

S. BachIch elender Mensch, wer wird mich erlösen (Chorus), BWV 48
F. Haendel – « Mourn, all ye Muses » (II,1 – Chorus), Acis and Galatea HWV 49

F. Haendel – « He sent a thick darkness » (Exodus, VII), Israel en Egypt HWV 54
S. Bach – « Es kommt aber die Zeit » (Chorus), Sie werden euch in den Bann tun BWV 44

F. Haendel – « He smote all the first born of Egypt » (Exodus VIII) Israel en Egypt HWV 54
S. BachHerr, gehe nicht ins Gericht mit deinem Knecht (Chorus) BWV 105

F. Haendel – « Egypt was glad when they departed » (Exodus, XI), Israel en Egypt HWV 54
S. BachNimm von uns, Herr, du treuer Gott (Chorus), BWV 101

S. Bach – « Cum Sancto Spiritu », Messe in G-moll BWV 235
F. Haendel – « Et in secula seculorum », Dixit Dominus HWV 232

F. HaendelOrgelkonzert n°1 op. 4 (larghetto e staccato), HWV 289
S. Bach – Concerto pour clavier en ré m (Allegro), BWV 1052
S. BachGeist und Seele wird verwirret (Sinfonia), BWV 35
S. BachWir danken dir, Gott (Sinfonia) BWV 29

F. HaendelNo se emendará jamás, Cantata Spagnola HWV 140
S. BachFolia, BWV 212-5

S. Bach – « An dir, du Fürbild grosser Frauen » (Coro), Lass, Fürstin, lass noch einen Strahl’ BWV 198
F. Haendel – « The way of Zion do mourn » (II), Funeral anthem for Queen Caroline HWV 264
S. Bach – « Ich harre des Hernn, meine Seele harret » (Chorus), Aus der Tiefen rufe ich, Herr, zu dir BWV 131

S. Bach – « Parti pur, e con dolore », Non sa che sia dolore BWV 209
F. Haendel – « Ah crudele! E pur ten’ vai », Armida abbandonata HWV 105

F. Haendel – « Soll mein Kind », Brockes passion HWV 48
S. Bach – « So ist mein Jesu », Matthäus Passion BWV 244

F. Haendel – « Hallelujah! », Messiah HWV 56

See our other productions


21 Avril 2024


Grand Manège

Namur, Belgium